Wargames Wednesday 1

This is the first post in this series all about wargames, I intend to include about what wargames I play, terrain making, and infrequent battle reports.

In this post I am going to share some smoke markers and how I made them. They can be used to mark wrecked vehicles, burning builds or just help to make the game more immersive.

The markers begin as a round wooden base, the base needs to be weighty enough to hold the support of the smoke plume, so I use thick plywood. A hole needs to be drilled in the centre, then into this I glue a piece of thick wire that has be doubled over on itself.

DSCF2929

Then, I threaded strips of cotton wool through the loop and glued them in place using PVA glue, building up the layers on top of one another until I had got the desired shape.

DSCF2928

Next, once the glue dried, I sprayed the entire marker with grey spray paint then turned it upside-down and sprayed it with black spray paint, this gave darker shadowing on the underside. This finished the smoke marker, however I wanted to use it as a marker for burning wrecks, so by using yellow and red paint I built up a fire effect around the base.

DSCF2926

DSCF2931

Finally some models for scale, both are 28mm Bolt Action miniatures.

Leave a comment